Canada 1957

Canada – Fixed – 1957

The Liberal Party has governed Canada for 22 years with five consecutive majority governments under first Prime Minister William Lyon Mackenzie King, then succeeded in 1948 by Justice Minister Louis St. Laurent. Though the economy is strong and St. Laurent himself remains popular, he excercises little supervision over his cabinet ministers, and several controversies have arisen of late. The Progressive Consevatives, under their new leader, the charismatic John Diefenbaker, plan to run a campaign potraying the Liberals as arrogant and out-of-touch, while the Liberals campaign on the national prosperity and their claim there’s no need to change.

One thought on “Canada 1957”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *